RSS Feed

SIX DAYS!

Posted on

With under a week remaining until takeoff, I am starting to experience the calm before the emotional storm.

In the past two days, I have:

  • purchased all toiletries necessary for 4 months of cleanliness
  • found a gorgeous pair of Steve Madden leather boots, thank you Marshalls!
  • borrowed a huge suitcase from my friend/coworker Melissa
  • packed EVERYTHING into two suitcases (this is a HUGE deal because packing is super overwhelming for me, I have too many clothes. I used Space Saver bags, though, which take the air out of everything)
  • taken passport photos for any IDs that DIS needs to make when I arrive
  • chatted on the phone with my sanity, Nan (who has taught at Villanova and DIS!)
  • bonded with my bro, Ben, over Wrath of the Titans
  • planned a luau for the End of Summer Party for my nuggets at TLCC (more on them later)
  • planned a fun week of goodbyes/social events for my last week!

After all this, I am beginning to think that Copenhagen will come as a relief!

But honestly, I think this interim part between being physically ready to go and actually going is the best part. It’s at this time when the reality of the situation starts to sink in. I am going away, and I will not be back for a long time.

More importantly, I love the way people act during this final week of spending time together. Everyone laughs louder, cries a little, and hugs more. We are all reminded of how much we truly love those around us, and that time with them is precious. It reminds me of one of my favorite pieces of wisdom I learned when I was a little girl:

“Live every day like it’s your last, ’cause one day, it will be.”

About bribogue

I'm a girl on the move! finding myself in Copenhagen this semester...following my heart to harmony and happiness.

Leave a Reply

