RSS Feed

Reflections from the Airport

Posted on

I am not one to publicly rant about my inner reflections, but since I’m doing this blog I might as well share.

This is the moment I have been waiting for. Just picture me: sitting in the Starbucks by my gate at JFK, chewing gum like a crazy person, makeup half-fuzzy from the tears I shed before I pulled myself together. People around me probably come from unimaginable countries, and here I am, little lady headed to the big city.

There are a few things I have learned leading up to this moment:
1) I am appreciated by more people than I thought! Carol (from the daycare) got me an adorable cake during the luau and we all took pictures with it. One of my favorite parents from the daycare got me a present, and gave me loads of advice. My best friends refused to leave my house last night until 3 am because they couldn’t bear to leave me (and I didn’t want them to). All in all, I have a solid group of people surrounding me.
2) I am really small. In stature, in exposure, in knowledge… You name it. I have so much to learn and experience! But, I am reminded of one of my favorite quotes from The Help, “You is smart, you is kind, you is important.” No matter how insignificant I may feel at times like these, when my cushion of people has left me alone, that mantra reminds me that I am meaningful.
3) Finally, I have learned that no matter how much research I think I’ve done in preparation for this trip, I am still pretty clueless. My picture of myself in Copenhagen is still just me at a cafe in the city. More details will begin to emerge when I arrive, but right now my excitement is muted by loneliness and uncertainty.

Regardless of all this, I will continue on this journey. Now that I got all that on paper, it feels a little but more like a passing cloud than a looming hurricane. Copenhagen, here comes your new favorite little lady!!

About bribogue

I'm a girl on the move! finding myself in Copenhagen this semester...following my heart to harmony and happiness.

Leave a Reply

