RSS Feed

Thinking Straight? First Week Reflection

Posted on

I smile as I type this because I know, already, that I am a bigger person than I was one week ago. Triumph.

My favorite way to write is to pick a song that speaks to me, put it on loop, and play it as the background to my thoughts until I am finished spilling the contents of my oft-scattered brain onto a page. This time, it’s TLC’s Unpretty. Even in Denmark, this song reminds me to keep it real when I am quite convinced that this is a dream world.

Now that I have had a chance to shake the jetlag and make some friends, it is becoming obvious to me that my life will never be the same again. Even after one week, I can tell that some of these friendships will last a lifetime. I will never get into a car again without remembering the first time I almost fell off my bike, never put the windshield wipers on without remembering the time I was biking into a rain storm with twenty other (quite unfazed) Danes, never put my blinker on to turn without subconsciously sticking my hand out in a biker turn signal. Life can change so quickly. Mine already has, and I know this is just the beginning.

The most amazing part of this experience has been watching myself learn. For someone who has never been out of the country (nevermind by myself!), two intercontinental flights were a daunting obstacle. On the other side of those eleven hours of travel were an unknown world–a world that I have lived in for one week and am already adapting to and learning about. Here, I hope to develop a deeper understanding of myself and this wonderful new place that will become part of my history. Independent of every familiar environment, who will I become?

Inevitably, homesickness has been a presence, but not a burden. Like a shadow, it follows me around but does not assert itself as a full-bodied being that walks beside me. Whenever I see something new or beautiful, the feeling of awe is immediately coupled by the desire to share my discoveries with those I love. My overwhelming joy is tempered with this feeling of longing for the closeness and warmth that I take comfort in. Missing my circles of supportive, loving, attentive friends and family would be crippling without the knowledge that I will return to them with even more love than I left with. And stories. Each life is a story, and now, I am writing mine.

Much love ❤

About bribogue

I'm a girl on the move! finding myself in Copenhagen this semester...following my heart to harmony and happiness.

Leave a Reply

