RSS Feed

Taking A Minute: The Two Week Check-in

I know I haven’t mentioned classes yet, but don’t worry everyone, I have been attending! You’re probably wondering how I have been spending my time now that I have “settled in” (which, in a place this interesting, is actually impossible). My typical class week looks something like this.

Monday

Wake up at 9, go for a run through city center and around the lakes.

Women, Art, & Identity class 11:40-1:00 with Mia. Neither one of us is an art history person, but the promise of museum visits drew me in.

Danish Language & Culture class 1:15-2:35 The teacher’s name is JC, and he’s a big mushy Dane. Definitely have no idea what he’s saying half the time, but he’s cute about it.

Scandinavian Crime Fiction class 2:50-16:10 with Mia. This class is like Sherlock Holmes, but modern. This may be my favorite class. It is so interesting!

Tuesday:

Positive Psychology class 8:30-9:50 This is my Core Course, which means that my Study Tours are with this class. This week, we are spending 3 days and 2 nights travelling Denmark, and in October, we will spend a whole week in Milan, Italy!!

Between this and my next class, Vince and I usually explore, frolic, or go to the Glass Market to sample creations and people watch.

Applied Psychology class 1:15-2:35 with Aimee, a new friend! This is where we learn therapeutic techniques and practice. Definitely second favorite.

Wednesday:

This is when Field Studies take place. Each class has two field studies per semester, which are trips to museums, guest lectures, or other non-classroom enrichment activities. This “experiential learning” approach attracted me to DIS!

Other than those times when we are required to meet with classes for field studies, Wednesdays are free!

Thursday:

See Monday

Friday:

See Tuesday

IN BETWEEN:

When I am not in class, I have been biking around Copenhagen to find sights like the Church of Our Savior, and less-touristy alcoves, like the beach. Going for runs around the city is also great fun, because I always get lost, and am guaranteed some solitary reflective time, which I love. Each week, I try to find a café or two that I like. Of course, people pepper my time. I have met more friends here than I could have hoped for, from everywhere.

Between all this, the talk of the town right now is planning trips during our two weeks of travel breaks. So far, I have booked tickets to Stockholm, Sweden, for a weekend. Meeting Marissa and Dee in Barcelona, Spain and traveling with them to London, England will take up part of a non-travel week for Mia and I, but it is well worth it to see those two! I have also gotten tickets to Athens, Greece, for $65!!! Still in the works are trips to Rome, Paris… and who knows where else! More to come.

So, this is my life. I never could have imagined this.

About bribogue

I'm a girl on the move! finding myself in Copenhagen this semester...following my heart to harmony and happiness.

Leave a Reply

