RSS Feed

Here Comes a Miz Post

Today was just one of those days.

I was actually almost convinced that every day of European life is a good one in some way… but I was wrong. Today was the third day that half of my friends here (including Mia) were gone on their short study tours, where DIS takes you around Western Denmark and houses you at hostels & the whole 9. But the other half of us are kind of like, wait… what do I do now? Routine has been established for the past two weeks and suddenly half of the people in the program are whisked away. Thanks, DIS, for keeping it interesting, but right now I think a good dose of Routine on the Rocks would have been better for me than this.

So tonight, finally, everyone came back. Regardless of the fact that I was exhausted from attempting to write a research paper all day, and just generally mopey, I went to go make dinner at Mia’s. On the way, there’s a right turn that I have to make, from asphalt road to cobblestone, in between two outdoor restaurants. SO OF COURSE I FALL OFF MY BIKE! This is not one of those graceful hiccups, either. It’s a straight up, full speed face plant. Wearing a backpack. The 25 people watching me gasped all at once, and I just got up and shrugged. It would have been hilarious if I was in a good mood, but since I was already miz, I was not a good sport.

Instead of cooking dinner like the usual Euro-dieters that we are, we went to Nordic Noodle and got some takeout Chinese. Then we sat down with all her (basically our, since I love them) housemates, a communal box of chocolate granola, and our computers. Our goal: book the flights for the second travel break.

We got all the way through Scotland, and almost to Paris, WHEN SUDDENLY MY CARD GOT DECLINED! Now, I am seriously being the most money-conscious student travelers anyone has ever known, so when I saw this, I immediately knew there had to be a problem. Sure enough, unauthorized charges all over my online statement. ARE. YOU. KIDDING. ME. After 45 minutes on the phone with Wells Fargo, I have a new debit card in the mail, which will get here in TWO WEEKS. Looks like I’ll be eating notebook paper till then.

All this, and all I want is a hug from someone I know well. 4,000 miles is too much distance between this sad little lady and her big old support group.

I guess I learned that not every day in Copenhagen is taken out of a fairytale, but if it wasn’t for days like these, I would not truly appreciate the magical ones.

Goodnight, readers. I hope tomorrow is a better day in paradise.

About bribogue

I'm a girl on the move! finding myself in Copenhagen this semester...following my heart to harmony and happiness.

2 responses »

  1. Hugs from afar ❤

    Reply
  2. love you! hugs from all of us ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

